Fantastic Four — review

I actually really liked Fantastic Four. In the run-up to the new Fant4stic, the general consensus seems to be that this version is mostly disliked. But that’s fine. Because unlike some idiots on the Internet, I know what subjectivity is.

I actually really liked Fantastic Four. In the run-up to the new Fant4stic, the general consensus seems to be that this version is mostly disliked. But that’s fine. Because unlike some idiots on the Internet, I know what subjectivity is.

Anyway, so Fantastic Four. Here’s what I liked about it more than anything – I didn’t have to worry about how this connected to a much larger universe. There were no easter eggs to spot, no tie-ins or continuity to think about. Basically, Fantastic Four wasn’t trying to fit into a story already in progress. It just exists as a standalone, so it actually had room to breath and to just be the thing that it wants to be without the existence of other releases getting in its way or influencing it. As much as I like recent releases based on comic books, I’d prefer that they weren’t part of some big, interconnected world, because that causes a lot of practical storytelling problems, as well as inserting an element of expectation or comparability into what you’re watching. With Fantastic Four, there are no connections to anything. The Spider-Man trilogy was already in progress at this point, but there are no references to anything from it made. Both they and he live in New York, and have super-powers, and defeat a supervillain, but Marvel decided to allow Fantastic Four to exist on its own, which was a much more logical choice, because it lets the characters prove themselves on their own. It’s simpler, and simpler is better. Especially when the new Fantastic Four team are (probably) going to be a part of the X-Men universe, which already has a very complicated continuity.

And so, given my preference for standalones, it makes sense to look at Fantastic Four by not thinking about other superhero films at all, and actually showing the kind of credibility its status as a standalone has.

So – despite there being a sequel, which I’m hoping to get to, we begin Fantastic Four in a brand new world that’s about to become much braver. And as it progresses and develops, it seems that it isn’t taking itself too seriously, which works better than it doesn’t. The characters are extremely likeable, and that’s what Fantastic Four has going for it – they’re like a family. Reed Richards is scientific, and skeptical, and approaches everything with logic in a way that does work, even if it’s at the detriment of his connection to the other characters. Susan Storm’s role in the story is… interesting. Johnny Storm was my favourite, however, because of his comedic apathy and for being semi-aware of questions I actually found myself asking, e.g.: where the Thing’s ears are? And also for pointing-out how gross Richards’ power is (which I’ll admit is created through effects since dated). I’d point out how fun it was to watch a serious hero like Steven Rogers suddenly being comic relief, and that it’s entirely due to Chris Evans, who gains legitimacy here because of his contrasting roles, but… standalone!

But though Storm’s my favourite (Johnny, though I can understand the affinity for Susan), it was Benjamin Grimm that affected me the most. The scene where his fiance runs away from him, despite him having set-up his reveal so carefully, worked because it’s accurate. Some people really are capable of being monster on the inside, when there are people considered monsters on the outside. And I especially liked his exchange with Storm, where he tells her that he wishes he had her ability, because he hates being seen.

Fantastic Four‘s the kind of thing where, the screenplay… kinda sucks. it has good moments, but it mostly sucks. But somehow, everything else worked. The Thing was really well-realised, I don’t get the hate for it. And it didn’t have the overbearing sense of dread that modern superhero releases have. Not that I don’t like dark themes, it’s just that they’re all looking as if they’re trying to have them, as opposed to just having them.

Really, I’m satisfied with what Fantastic Four provides. Again, I’d mention how, to me, it’s set the bar high in terms of Fant4stic, but…

…standalone!

Fantastic Four – goofy, but not overly so. 7/10

Author: the Purple Prose Mage

I'm not Batman, but I wish that I were.

2 thoughts on “Fantastic Four — review”

Comments are closed.