Wes Anderson and Anthony McCarten win Screenplay awards at 68th Film BAFTAs

After weeks of hype and anticipation, the BAFTAs announced the winners of their two screenplay awards.

Wes Anderson won Best Original Screenplay for The Grand Budapest Hotel, and Anthony McCarten won Best Adapted Screenplay for The Theory of Everything, based on Travelling to Infinity: my Life with Stephen by Jane Wilde Hawking, which also won Outstanding British Film.

Best Film was awarded to Boyhood by Richard LinklaterStephen Beresford won Outstanding Debut for a writer, while Best Non-English Film went to Ida by Rebecca Lenkiewicz and Paweł Pawlikowski. Best Animated Film was The Lego Movie by Phil Lord and Christopher Miller. Best Animated Short was awarded to The Bigger Picture by Jennifer Majka and Daisy Jacobs. Best Short Film in live-action was Boogaloo and Graham by Ronan Blaney.

The 69th British Academy Awards haven’t announced a ceremony date or nominees.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: