Hulk and the Agents of S.M.A.S.H.: Guardians of the Galaxy — review

When the Guardians of the Galaxy appeared in Ultimate Spider-Man: Guardians of the Galaxy, I found it blissful. And I even stated there my desire for Spider-Man to join the Marvel Cinematic Universe to make a crossover possible. I think it must have been only the very next day that Marvel Entertainment announced this was happening. And now that’s the case, one can only hope they’ll meet the Hulk at some point, and Hulk and the Agents of S.M.A.S.H.: Guardians of the Galaxy proves why that’s a good thing.

Screenplay by Henry Gilroy.

When the Guardians of the Galaxy appeared in Ultimate Spider-Man: Guardians of the Galaxy, I found it blissful. And I even stated there my desire for Spider-Man to join the Marvel Cinematic Universe to make a crossover possible. I think it must have been only the very next day that Marvel Entertainment announced that’s happening. And now that’s the case, one can only hope they’ll meet the Hulk at some point, and Hulk and the Agents of S.M.A.S.H.: Guardians of the Galaxy proves why that’s a good thing.

The titular characters are both teams, so it made sense to combine them. The Agents of S.M.A.S.H. solve problems with fists, and are like a heavy duty response team for difficult situations that need their pounding to be resolved. The Guardians of the Galaxy, in this incarnation, are law enforcers, who assist S.M.A.S.H. when the Kree imitate the Avengers. It’s tackled in such a way that it doesn’t look like the Guardians of the Galaxy are guest characters, but are crossing over. They’ve already had several appearances in Disney XD’s Marvel Universe programming slot that it seems strange that they don’t in fact have their own show. Guardians of the Galaxy proved they’re popular enough, and it would only add to the momentum Marvel have already started with this shared animated universe.*

As my reviews of previous Hulk and the Agents of S.M.A.S.H. episodes will show, I don’t really watch for the plot. There is a plot, but it’s secondary. I care less regarding what it’s “about” than what I can actually see and how it all comes together, and it comes together fairly well. Yes, this show is quite cliched at times, but cliches happen as the combination of unoriginal elements, but the elements are created by such imaginative writers that you find yourself wanting to see more cliches, since they’re reinvented and feel genuinely meaningful. Here, we get the expected contrast between heavyweights and interventionists, and it’s all very pleasurable. Really, the show works for the people who like it, and for those people, episodes are generally consistent.

Hulk and the Agents of S.M.A.S.H.: Guardians of the Galaxy – shared universe proving its consistency 6/10.

*Update: Marvel Entertainment have since announced that Guardians of the Galaxy will be coming to the Marvel Universe programming block, proving once again that I seem to be able to predict their announcements. Huh.

Author: the Purple Prose Mage

I'm not Batman, but I wish that I were.