Brooklyn Nine-Nine: Lockdown — review

Season 2 has, so far, been an interesting insight into the workers at Precinct 99. What Tredici does with Brooklyn Nine-Nine: Lockdown is to create a situation in-which most characters are trapped within it during a package scare, the exceptions being Det. Ser. Jeffords and Cap. Holt, who are up to… something else. I honestly can’t remember what. This episode is just that forgettable. And I don’t really have a problem with that, because most episodes are entertaining, so one deviation isn’t going to do any harm, but I take everything I watch for what it is, not as I’d like it to be.

Screenplay by Luke Del Tredici.

Season 2 has, so far, been an interesting insight into the workers at Precinct 99. What Tredici does with Brooklyn Nine-Nine: Lockdown is to create a situation in-which most characters are trapped within it during a package scare, the exceptions being Det. Ser. Jeffords and Cap. Holt, who are up to… something else. I honestly can’t remember what. This episode is just that forgettable. And I don’t really have a problem with that, because most episodes are entertaining, so one deviation isn’t going to do any harm, but I take everything I watch for what it is, not as I’d like it to be.

Sometimes, you just don’t get it right. It’s doesn’t have to be someone’s fault. Sometimes, the wind’s just in the wrong direction, and the arrow lands off-target. Sometimes, the jokes just seem off or not-quite-right. It was a good idea, and was potentially one of the best: make the precinct the central character for an episode by closing it due to a scare. It could have been a love letter to the show by portraying how much these people care about the building. Maybe save it for an anniversary special in season ten?

But it’s not something I’ll hold against Brooklyn Nine-Nine, just this episode. Everyone has a bad day, but it doesn’t mean they’re not normally on top form. There are plenty more I’ll gladly watch, and this exception just shows how rare examples of this actually are.

Brooklyn Nine-Nine: Lockdown — rare example of bad storytelling luck 4/10.

Author: the Purple Prose Mage

I'm not Batman, but I wish that I were.

Leave a Reply

