Introducing… The S-Word!

I’ve been blogging. Faster than ever. Or, I was. Very recently. In fact, a few days ago, I posted an article announcing “Phase 3” of this blog in-which I decreased the quantity of what I reviewed and instead expanded the formats I write in order to have more range as well as having less frequency. So, reviewing only motion pictures rather than television (Doctor Who‘s the exception) wasn’t at first going to sustain a regular blog. But comic books, novels and graphic novels would. More formats, less frequency, but enough to keep ahead of myself.

But the reason I did this was because I’d realised something. It may be the most polarising comedy ever written (most people I know and many bloggers I follow hate it), but I really like The Big Bang Theory. I don’t love it, but I like it. In fact, it was one of the shows I’d review episodically before cutting television from my schedule. And that’s because of an episode called The Focus Attenuation, in-which the main four attempt to find ways of keeping their attention on-track to remain productive. The Phase 3 announcement article started as a review of that episode, before I thought “wait a minute…”. So I decided to restructure what I was doing in such a way that I could still review fiction regularly while also actually writing some.

Up until now, all I’ve done is talk about fiction written by others. And there’s nothing wrong with that, per se, but I’ve decided to talk about what I myself write. Writing’s my number one dream (cliched term, also true) since I have so many ideas. The tangible knowledge of not writing became my driving force to do so.

SO! I’m not saying I’m not a novelist, but novels aren’t my first format. I’ve attempted novels, and the stories remain with me, and in the future I’ll make them into something, but primarily I’m a screenwriter. There’s a different principle to it which Terrance Dicks put down to being that “writing novels takes more effort”. He’s write. And he should know, he wrote the majority of Classic Doctor Who‘s novelisations, thereby being responsible for my parents’ generation being literate.

I do write in prose, but only as side-projects. Eventually, I’ll bring them into my main flow of creativity, but for now, I’m sticking with screenplays. I won’t go into an overlong article about it, because I’ve got hundreds I could write and that alone could sustain this blog. But since I praise and criticise other writers so much, I felt I should justify my position by actually showing you what I’ve written.

Not many people have seen this. It took me four months to complete, and I’m reasonably proud of it. If you’ve never read a screenplay before… I don’t know if it’s that easy to. I’m self-taught from several years of reading Russell T. Davies‘ Doctor Who episodes. Anyway. This is a spec pilot for a series I created called The S-Word. Inspiration’s been taken from Breaking Bad and X-Men, and you can read it now as a PDF or a Google Doc.

THE S-WORD

By A. M. Sigsworth

Author: alexsigsworth

Generic true believer Marvelite, etc.

Leave a Reply

