At last I know where I’m going (maybe)

A while ago, I posted about a pilot I wrote called The S-Word: Brunch of Heroes, in-which I described the writing of it and also a talked a bit about my life as a writer and what “kind” of writer I consider myself to be. And I did this to explain the restructuring of this blog to write with less frequency but on more formats. However, the past week’s been something of a wake-up call.

A while ago, I posted about a pilot I wrote called The S-Word: Brunch of Heroes, in-which I described the writing of it and also a talked a bit about my life as a writer and what “kind” of writer I consider myself to be. And I did this to explain the restructuring of this blog to write with less frequency but on more formats. However, the past week’s been something of a wake-up call.

Due to technical difficulties, I’ve been without computer access for about a week. That’s why, if you’re one of the blogs I follow, you’ll have found I’ve been reading and commenting on your latest posts all at once. It’s because I’ve only just got back in the game. But, as with everything, I like to turn every problem into a solution. And during this time, I entertained myself by catching up with Netflix. Initially, I’d signed-up for Daredevil, but I also took other recommendations for shows, like Orphan BlackOrange is the new BlackPretty Little Liars (“cowdung” – Geekritique), Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt and Better Call Saul. Only one of those isn’t worth watching.

And it’s introduced me to a new way of consuming television, and for that matter, all media. The latest Event in my life known as Netflix Week has shown me that binge watching is a better way to do it. The reason I stopped reviewing television was because a weekly series was too much to constantly review. In fact, when I started Daredevil, I tried reviewing each episode, before I decided against that practice. But I’d do the same with comic books, which are released monthly, leading to a pile-up.

So instead, I’m going to once again announce a new format to this blog.

Just as DC constantly destroy and revive their multiverse, I’m going to start reviewing television again. But instead, I’ll be reviewing entire seasons. I’m not sure what this means for Doctor Who, in-which episodes are generally different to each other, but right now it looks as if I’ll be using the same manual of style for that show as well. And with comic books, I’ll instead be reviewing collected volumes rather than issues. I’ll still review features, because they’re standalones, so there’s no commitment there. That means I’ll also be reviewing one-shot comic books as well. Novels is included in that. I haven’t reviewed many novels, but I will be doing.

Really, this comes down to me being a writer. And, obvious as that sounds, I actually need to write. This new strategy will allow me to write while also following my other interests. I have more time to write if I’m not constantly reviewing. Instead, I can still follow those same series, but more realistically reflect how everyone else does it. Right now, I’m working my way through Daredevil season one, and writing a legal drama pilot at the same time. Some time soon I’ll be bringing my Kick-Ass (Jane Goldman and Matthew Vaughn) review.

Personally, I can feel the productivity flowing through me already. And yes, I’ll be writing another of my Introducing… ! posts to tell you about it.

Coming soon.

Author: alexsigsworth

Basically... run.

Leave a Reply

