Editorial: a due change

My goal with reviewing films was to do so every day, but as anyone who’s actually tried to follow this blog will know, that isn’t happening. So I’ve been reconsidering my approach to film-reviewing, and this how I’ll be doing so going forward:

My goal with reviewing films was to do so every day, but as anyone who’s actually tried to follow this blog will know, that isn’t happening. So I’ve been reconsidering my approach to film-reviewing, and this how I’ll be doing so going forward:

Reviews will now be weekly based on opening weekends. Opening weekends begin Friday evenings and end on Monday, so I’ll be reviewing films opening then, with exceptions. The weekend’s openings will be based on what my local cinema has added, and I’ll be selecting the film best reviewed to view. While that’s not to say I’ll agree, I’ve been hurt too many times by needing my own opinion. I’ll also be referring to percentages on Rotten Tomatoes, as well as Schmoes Know, the only YouTube channel verified by them. I’ve already booked my ticket for Star Wars: the Force Awakens (J.J. Abrams and Lawrence Kasdan), so that’s the film I’ll be seeing that week regardless. So it’d better be good*.

So this week’s new releases are The Last Witch Hunter (15%, Cory GoodmanMatt Sazama and Burk Sharpless)Paranormal Activity: the Ghost Dimension (unrated, Jason Harry PaganAndrew DeutschmanAdam Robitel and Gavin Heffernan) and Spectre (88%, John LoganNeal PurvisRobert Wade and Jez Butterworth). Three films, only one of which has received positive reception. So therefore, Spectre will begin my weekly reviews of new films.

I just feel this system is less pressuring, and more in-touch with modern films.

My Spectre review will be posted next week.


Episode V rated 95%

Episode IV rated 94%

Episode III rated 80%

Episode VI rated 78%

Episode II rated 67%

Episode I rated 57%

Author: alexsigsworth

Generic true believer Marvelite, etc.

Leave a Reply

