[Text] My top five films [editorial]

A lot of people have asked me about this, so here’s my top five films, with directors and screenwriters credited. I’ve also included critical reviews to justify my inclusions:

A lot of people have asked me about this, so here’s my top five films, with directors and screenwriters credited. I’ve also included critical reviews to justify my inclusions:

5th: The Peanuts Movie

Director: Steve Martino

Screenplay: Bryan SchulzCraig Schulz and Cornelius Uliano.

Without body-function jokes or vulgarity, kids and adults will be entertained by this jovial, good-hearted movie that’s a salute to a creative genius.

QC Times’ Linda Cook

4th: Batman Begins

Director: Christopher Nolan

Screenplay: Christopher Nolan and David S. Goyer

I said this is the Batman movie I’ve been waiting for; more correctly, this is the movie I did not realize I was waiting for, because I didn’t realize that more emphasis on story and character and less emphasis on high-tech action was just what was needed. The movie works dramatically in addition to being an entertainment. There’s something to it.

Chicago Sun Times’ Roger Ebert

3rd: The Dark Knight Rises

Director: Christopher Nolan

Screenplay: Jonathan Nolan and Christopher Nolan

There’s a stock exchange heist, thrillingly enacted by cleaners and shoe-shiners under the leadership of Bane. When a suited schmuck tells Bane that he’ll find no money to steal he replies scathingly, “Really, then why are you people here?” There are nods to barbaric anti-terror measures, to occupation, to the danger of blind obedience and the power of fear, there’s a distinct lack of faith in the American government and even a conversation about the correct pronunciation of Ibiza. The Dark Knight Rises succeeds because it’s rooted in real-world experiences and fears and because it presents gut-churning action which suggests a sparing use of CGI.

The Art Desk’s Emma Simmonds

2nd: Big Hero 6

Director: Don Hall and Chris Williams

Screenplay: Jordan RobertsDan Gerson and Robert L. Baird

Yes, it’s a movie that should probably come packaged with aspirins for adults: being whisked around San Fransokyo in pin-sharp 3D is as exhausting as it is exhilarating. There’s much to be said in favour of films that take their time to tell a story slowly, using words instead of action, but Big Hero 6 feels like an animation in step with an ever-changing world – one that will one day be inherited by the infants who think in fast-forward and are currently wiping their sticky fingers all over our iPads.

The Shiznit’s Ali Gray

1st: Spider-Man 2

Director: Sam Raimi

Screenplay: Alvin Sargent

There are moviegoers who make a point of missing superhero movies, and I can’t blame them, although I confess to a weakness for the genre. I liked both of the Crow movies, and Daredevil,Hulk and X2, but not enough to recommend them to friends who don’t like or understand comic books. Spider-Man 2 is in another category: It’s a real movie, full-blooded and smart, with qualities even for those who have no idea who Stan Lee is. It’s a superhero movie for people who don’t go to superhero movies, and for those who do, it’s the one they’ve been yearning for.

Chicago Sun Times’ Roger Ebert

Author: alexsigsworth

Basically... run.

2 thoughts on “[Text] My top five films [editorial]”

  1. I assume this is a list of top-5 genre movies rather than top-5 movies ever? I mean, the Peanuts Movie was very well crafted, but it’s hard to imagine it ranked higher than non-genre movies like The Godfather or Goodfellas or 2001 …

    Like

    1. That’s one of the idiosyncrasies of how I “rank”. Often, if I’m asked my personal favourites, these are the ones I’ll give. But at the same time, I also have a parallel ranking of films on a technical basis. These, however, are those that I enjoy the most, even if there are others far better constructed. That said, Spider-Man 2 would come very highly in both of them.

      Like

Leave a Reply

