Rebirth

On 9th December, I posted of how blogging had become a distraction for me, and that I wanted to make it more fun by posting when I wanted to, rather than on a regular basis. And that’s generally what I’ve been doing. But, I’ve been reconsidering my approach again, and I’ve found that I want to make this blog more proactive. So there are some changes I’m making.

On 9th December, I posted of how blogging had become a distraction for me, and that I wanted to make it more fun by posting when I wanted to, rather than on a regular basis. And that’s generally what I’ve been doing. But, I’ve been reconsidering my approach again, and I’ve found that I want to make this blog more proactive. So there are some changes I’m making.

Firstly, most formats I’m currently running are now cancelled. That means: no links to screenplays of films I’ve recently seen. Mainly because all that involves is linking to them, instead of writing about them. But I’ll be posting about screenwriting in a new format, but more in the educational sense.

Just don’t expect those links to be posted in isolation anymore. Also, film reviews will stop coming on such a regular basis. There used to be a time when I’d review every film I saw, but from now on, I’ll just be reviewing the films that I really want to talk about. The first one I’m planning will be Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice, but there’s the chance of more before that.

Really, I want to get away from the idea of my covering every film, and instead return to my roots, which is being a fan of film. So expect my next review to be posted in the weekend of 25th – 27th March. But, with these formats being dropped, there are some news ones I’ve got to cover. And I feel these are more substantial and important to what I’ve got going, along a few other things outside of this blog that I want to bring in because I’ve realised that if I’m so committed to them, that they deserve to be here, since this blog is ultimately about me, and I want every aspect of what means to reach their true potential, and I’ve found that blogging about them is a good way of finding out what that is.

Especially because other bloggers I follow have also shown an interest in those things. So a lot of what I want to talk about is my own writing, including some short fantasy prose that I’ve written, as well as book reviews. Hopefully, I’ll be able to start with Steve Coogan’s Easily Distracted autobiography. Blogging is largely about collaboration, and I want to maximise that by connecting with other bloggers.

There are a lot of posts I’ve wanted to write that I haven’t been able to because those formats that don’t get many views and, in the grand scheme of things, don’t matter to this blog specifically are taking up time that could be better spent using this new regime. By eliminating those things, I’ll get to be more opinionated and focused on what I like, rather than limiting myself. Expect posts about Steven Moffat leaving Doctor Who and being replaced with Chris Chibnall. Also expect posts about the identity of the Thirteenth Doctor after Peter Capaldi regenerates in next year’s Christmas special (which isn’t confirmed, but is an open secret). But anyway.

This is what you can expect from me in the future:

  • Editorials – miscellaneous posts based on thoughts I’ve had regarding numerous things in the film industry.
  • Star Wars speculation – essentially my take on ideas circulating about the Star Wars fanbase. For instance, will VIII begin exactly where Star Wars: Episode VII – The Force Awakens ended?
  • Film narrative – analysing the numerous ways narratives are plotted in films. The first of these will concentrate on Letter From an Unknown Woman‘s narration.
  • Screenwriters and Screenplays – writing about it, rather than posting about examples of it. Hopefully, I’ll be able to cover as many aspects of the subject as possible, starting with genre writing using Jonathan Glazer’s Under the Skin as an example.
  • Specials – these are like editorials, but longer. Specially prepared posts going into detail about a specific subject, which will have involved much research and planning but will hopefully demonstrate, in some detail, an accurate presentation about that subject. These will be very rare.
  • Examples of things I’ve written
  • Book reviews
  • Comic book spotlight – something I might not actually do, but am considering doing. Each post would focus on a different comic book, and would be an information guide about its context and legacy thereupon. If I did it, I’d start with Batman: The Dark Knight Returns.

That’s not all I’m going to do, because I’m still generating ideas. But generally, this is what I’ll be doing. I figure there’s enough potential here to make each post interesting enough to justify decreasing rate of publishing.

Author: the Purple Prose Mage

I'm not Batman, but I wish that I were.

Leave a Reply

