Come in and meet the Daleks…

We understand the Human mind.

Well, this is it. After waiting for fifty years, The Power of the Daleks is finally coming home. I haven’t felt this excited since Spider-Man joined the Marvel Cinematic Universe. On 5th November 1966, episode one of The Power of the Daleks was broadcast on BBC-1 at 17:50. On the 5th November 2016, The Power of the Daleks will be released as a digital download, in-time for the fiftieth anniversary of the Second Doctor’s debut. I’m hearing that every episode is an animated reconstruction, and I’m not sure how I feel about that. But if that’s the case, then BBC Worldwide must have accepted that the original lost prints aren’t going to be found, so animated reconstructions is something I’ll just have to deal with. Frankly, I’m glad that the core of the Omnirumour is going to die down after this, probably. Hopefully. A licensed reconstruction will make The Power of the Daleks more accessible to everyone, equally. Now I won’t have to watch telesnaps or animated photos. I said I was going to film my reaction to the trailer, but that was in the hope that at least episode one would be recovered. I’d willingly sacrifice the following five episodes for a print of the first episode. But, you can’t always get what you want. Still, this is the best possible news that could be announced on my 20th birthday, of all days. It’s time to put this arduous ordeal to rest. Whatever may happen, The Power of the Daleks is going to be on DVD by its fiftieth anniversary, and I’m grateful enough for that. Even if it is completely animated. If that happens, we must all buy it, legitimately, in order to convince BBC Worldwide to release more animated reconstructions, but only if they’ve concluded that the film prints will never be found. This seems to be the case with The Power of the Daleks. Unless it’s a deliberate leak just to bait us.

If I seem over-excited, it’s because I was watching Deadpool earlier, while high on Pepsi. So I’m a little bit hyper right now. But not as much as I’m about to be…

Author: alexsigsworth

Basically... run.

Leave a Reply

