Getting academic

Recently I moved my WordPress output to YouTube – something I’ve been meaning to do for a while. I’m currently editing a review of Doctor Who – An Unearthly Child (by Anthony Coburn), which will be coming your way at 17:30 on 23rd November. I’ll probably do some other videos before then, but there are some that I schedule for specific dates. And ever since I started making YouTube the centre of my operations, it’s seemed that this blog would just become embedded videos that are hosted elsewhere. Even then, not much. Now that I’m back at university, my studies are taking-up most of my time. So I wanted something to fill the void, and I had an idea… what if I started using WordPress in an entirely different way to YouTube? What if I didn’t just use WordPress to compliment my YouTube videos, but instead put out completely different content on each? My YouTube videos focus on “geek” content, yet there’s also my lesser-seen academic side. So what if I were to use WordPress as a posting ground for academic notes and writings? No long essays or anything (that’s what Academia is for), but if I were to use this site for articles about intellectual, high-brow subjects, instead of fan-driven ramblings about more populist topics? Personally, I’m already intrigued by the idea of doing this. Later, I’ll be posting an example of what to expect, by using Bienvenue chez les Ch’tis as an introduction to European cinema, and what that involves. Let me know if you’d be interested in this sort of thing.

Author: the Purple Prose Mage

I'm not Batman, but I wish that I were.

Leave a Reply

