What I have learned since I started blogging

The Well-Red Mage (geddit?) has challenged me to answer the premise of what I have learned since I started blogging.

My first blog post was published 2nd June 2014, Doctor Who BAFTA TV Success. As far as dissecting three years worth of blogging goes, that post doesn’t really tell us much. I felt passionate about something, and wanted to share my interest with the rest of the Internet. What I didn’t expect was to have made so many friends as a result.

The main problem with being an artist is that our ability to analyse is so strong that it can often feed back on ourselves, which can cause periodic creative crises. All posts are about something, and everything is a story, so we start to wonder why we should be telling it and not something else. This is something I experienced on a regular basis. That’s why the subjects discussed by my friends have become my preferred topics; the posts I write are not nearly as important as for whom I’m writing them. When I remember that nothing has any point, it’s my friends here at WordPress that are able to bring me back to the ground and remind me that being a part of an ongoing debate about culture and the way in which it is expressed is all with which I need worry myself.

I’d like to thank the Well-Red Mage for reminding me that there is a science to art, and that there is no such thing as high art or low art – all art is created equal and has the same potential to be studied academically.

And yes, that Driver documentary is something I’m still doing, I’m getting there slowly but surely.

I’d like to challenge Geekritique from Geekritique, Kat Impossible from Life and Other Disasters and vinnieh of vinnieh.

Author: alexsigsworth

Basically... run.

5 thoughts on “What I have learned since I started blogging”

  1. Hey! What a pleasure to read this neat little post about your experiences and your drive behind blogging! I’m happy to know that finding your circle of friends and discovering the purpose of writing for them in discussing culture and art. All art should indeed be open to analysis and critique, because some of it deserves to be praised when society least expects it to be and conversely some others deserve the sledgehammer of textual wrath. Thanks for participating and for sharing the challenge with others! I hope this helps us all learn more from each other.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The rise of anti-intellectualism troubles me. The way that academics are being de-legitimised because they scrutinise information is the thing that worries me the most about society right now.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hm, that is troubling, though I can’t say I’ve given it much thought recently. Anti-intellectualism has bothered me significantly in other contexts, namely within Christianity being a Christian who’s taught systematic theology in academic terms myself, and more generally in scope of the negativity that the average person heaps upon the things in life which require more brain power. I mean, there’s definitely an audience for the typical “smart guy” YouTuber explaining physics and history, but I’ve worked with many people over the years who either give up right away or brush something off it demands thinking about at length. Actually, the reason I married my wife is because I was immediately impressed by her ability to mull over abstract concepts with me. I think that we as writers have a solemn and joyous duty to combat anti-intellectualism through our craft.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

