Why I don’t read comic books

Normally, I tend to focus on motion pictures with These Things, but a large trend in cinema currently is comic book adaptations. Upcoming this year are Avengers: Age of UltronAnt-ManFantastic FourKingsman: the Secret Service and The Peanuts Movie, all of which are adaptations of comic books. And they’re also the most successful, as well as generally being of the most interest to audiences and news sites. And the reason, from what I’ve observed, seems to be because Marvel Studios have decided to launch a series of comic book adaptations using the same structure as comic books themselves, with characters having their own series, which interconnect with each-other. So any comic book being released this month is likely to be part of a larger, ongoing story and that we’re only seeing that character’s perspective of it.

And yet, I don’t read comic books. The main reason is because I don’t want to bring that external element into it. I figure that if I followed comic book storylines, then it would alter my perception of the adaptations, in the same way as a novel would. For example, there’s a Marvel fanatic I unfortunately know. And he’s quite obsessed with accuracy. He once said that the reason Marvel need to follow the Winter Soldier storyline of making him the next Captain America after Steve Rogers dies is, in a nutshell, because that was the events that happened in the comic books. Do you know something? I don’t care. I just don’t care. When I saw Captain America: the Winter Soldier, I knew nothing about that villain. When I saw Guardians of the Galaxy, I knew nothing about them either. But both were still entertaining. And as someone whose biggest interest is motion pictures, I find that having that knowledge there – of the lore, and the continuity – would create an undesired conflict of interest. So I just don’t read them. Because I want to be surprised. I don’t want to know what’s coming. All I want is a good story. And, as someone who’s never read a single comic book, I can tell you: their adaptations still manage to entertain me.

Author: alexsigsworth

Generic true believer Marvelite, etc.

Leave a Reply

